Shri Prithipal Singh, 48 years of age, on 7th May, 1990, secured for himself a mediclaim policy from X General Insurance Co. Ltd. Necessary formalities were completed by him in this regard after due consultation with and
CS Professional · Insurance - Law and Practice · PYQS · June 2017
Shri Prithipal Singh, 48 years of age, on 7th May, 1990, secured for himself a mediclaim policy from X General Insurance Co. Ltd. Necessary formalities were completed by him in this regard after due consultation with and guidance of the insurance company's agent. Shri Singh nominated his wife Smt. Satwant Kaur as the beneficiary under the policy. The policy was for a period of due year and has to run from 7th May, 1990 to 6th May, 1991. The annual premium charged by the company was ₹ 1,500 which was duly paid in cash by the insured. In filling the proposal form leading to the issue of the policy Shri Singh, while answering questions 10 and 11 thereof, had clearly stated that he had not suffered from any illness in the past and that he had not undergone any medical procedures. On 11th September, 1990, Shri Singh fell ill suddenly and was admitted to a local hospital at Ludhiana where he was residing. The Ludhiana hospital, in the course of the treatment, suggested his shift to a specialised hospital and hence on 7th December, 1990, Shri Singh was shifted to the Madras Institute of Nephrology, Chennai also known as Vijaya Health Centre. While under treatment in the Chennai hospital, Shri Singh's condition deteriorated and ultimately he died in the Chennai hospital on 26th December, 1990. Smt. Sawant Kaur intimated the insurer X General Insurance Co. Ltd., of her husband's death early in January 1991 and followed up the intimation with a claim statement in February 1991 in which she had claimed a reimbursement of medical and hospital charges of ₹ 5,23,500. The insurance company made enquiries with the Madras Institute of Nephrology and obtained a certificate from them on 6th May, 1992 stating that the deceased Shri Singh was a known case of chronic renal failure/diabetic nephropathy; that he was on a regular haemo-dialysis for some years and also after admission into their Institute and suffered from severe breathlessness leading to the development of a sudden cardiac arrest leading to death on 26th December, 1990. Their certificate also mentioned that the insured was a confirmed diabetic for the last 16 years of his life. In the circumstances, the insurance company by its letter of 30th August, 1993 repudiated the claim and informed Mrs. Singh so. Feeling aggrieved, Mrs. Singh approached the Consumer Dispute Redressal Forum with the prayer that the insurance company should be directed to pay her claim fully along with interest on the claim amount at 24% per annum and also compensation for causing her mental agony. Additionally, she claimed that the litigation expenses should be fully granted to her. The insurance company, in defence, stated before the authority that the claim was unsustainable and had been refused by it on the strength of the report of the treating hospital. The insurer also pointed out that while filling the proposal form, the insured had specifically started against columns 10 and 11 that he had always been in sound health and had not undergone any medical treatment or operation in the 12 months prior to the date of proposal. The medical report issued by the Madras hospital confirmed that the insured was a confirmed diabetic and was suffering from chronic renal failure or diabetic nephropathy. The insurer also relied on certificates obtained from two independent doctors to state that the claim was not payable as material facts relating to the health of the insured had been concealed at the time of taking the policy. They indicated that even though they had not treated the insured personally, they were of the view that the facts established that the claim could not be paid. After hearing the parties, the District Forum rejected the opinion/view of the independent doctors since they had neither seen nor treated the deceased. The Forum also held that the report of the Chennai hospital was not supported by any circumstantial evidence and was thus not to be relied upon. On this basis, the Forum held in favour of the claimant and against the insurance company and that the claim be paid. The District Forum also concluded that the insurance company was guilty of deficiency of service and that the repudiation of the claim was not based on any full material information. The forum also felt that there was an inordinate delay on the part of the insurance company in dealing with the claim under the policy. The forum directed the insurance company to pay the claim along with interest at 12% per annum from 1st April, 1991, that is, 3 months after the death of the insured, till date of payment. The forum also directed the insurance company to pay Mrs. Singh ₹ 1,000 as costs of litigation. Not satisfied with the District Forum's decision, the insurance company filed an appeal before the State commission reiterating the same facts as had been pressed before the District forum. The State commission, on hearing the parties, allowed the appeal of the insurance company and part of its order dated 31st December, 1998 read as under: "Death of the insured occurred within seven months of taking the mediclaim policy and section 45 of the Insurance Act is not even remotely attracted. We are of the considered view that repudiation of the claim was on a consideration of the aforesaid record of the Madras Institute of Nephrology and therefore answer to col. 10 of the proposal form amounted to misrepresentation of and suppression of material facts regarding health made by the policyholder. No case of deficiency in service has been established." Mrs. Singh filed a revision petition before the National Commission. The National Commission dismissed the revision petition stating that as it was a case of concurrent finding of facts recorded both by the District Forum and the State Commission, "there was no reason to interfere and hence dismissed." However, the learned counsel for the respondent submitted that the repudiation of the claim was fully justified because at the time of submission of the proposal form, the proposer had made a false declaration that he was possessing a sound health and had not undergone any treatment in the last 12 years and taking the facts disclosed as correct, the policy was issued. It was urged that the mediclaim policy was issued solely on the basis of facts disclosed and the representation made by an insured in the proposal form filled in and submitted by him without subjecting the insured to any medical tests. It was also pointed out that the proposal form contained a declaration to the effect that if after the insurance is effected, it was found that any statements, answers or particulars stated in the proposal form and its questionnaire were found to be incorrect or untrue in any respect, the insurance company shall incur no liability under the policy. It was thus asserted that the insured having suppressed the fact of his suffering from chronic renal failure/diabetic nephropathy, which fact was within his knowledge, the insurance company was justified in repudiating the claim. There was a clear suppression of material facts in regard to the health of the insured and, therefore, the insurance company was fully justified in repudiating the insurance claim/contract. The National Commission did not find any merit in the revision petition and dismissed it. No order was made by the Commission as to the costs of litigation. Based on the facts given above, deal with the following issues : Define the principle of utmost good faith and state the pertinent interpretation of IRDAI with regard to material facts.
Answer & Explanation:
The principle of Utmost good faith can be defined as a positive duty voluntarily to disclose, accurately and fully, all facts material to the risk being proposed, whether requested or not. Uberrimae Fidei- 'Fidei' means faith and Uberrimae means utmost. Faith is complete between both the parties of contract. Thus, it needs little emphasis that when an information on a specific aspect is asked for in the proposal form, an assured is under a solemn obligation to make a true and full disclosure of the information on the subject which is within his knowledge. Therefore, a fundamental principle of insurance law, is that utmost faith must be observed by the contracting parties. Good faith forbids either party from non-disclosure of the facts which the party privately knows. The assured's duty to disclose can be summarized as under: "...the assured must disclose to the insurer all facts material to an insurer's appraisal of the risk which are known or deemed to be known by the assured but neither known nor deemed to be known by the insurer. Breach of this duty by the assured entitles the insurer to avoid the contract of insurance so long as he can show that the non-disclosure induced the making of the contract on the relevant terms. IRDA has made the 15 days free look-in period a 'mandatory regulation'. The company spends heavily to train its agents/advisors so that they are able to guide and give the right product to the customers. As per the Regulation 2(l)(d) of the Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority (Protection of Policyholders' Interests) Regulations, 2002, which explains the meaning of term "material". The Regulation reads thus: "Proposal Form" means a form to be filled in by the proposer for insurance, for furnishing all material information required by the insurer in respect of a risk, in order to enable the insurer to decide whether to accept or decline, to undertake the risk, and in the event of acceptance of the risk, to determine the rates, terms and conditions of a cover to be granted. The explanation for "Material" for the purpose of these regulations shall mean and include all important, essential and relevant information in the context of underwriting the risk to be covered by the insurer." Thus, the Regulation also defines the word "material" to mean and include all "important, "essential" and "relevant" information in the context of guiding the insurer to decide whether to undertake the risk or not. In a Contract of Insurance, any fact which would influence the mind of a prudent insurer in deciding whether to accept or not to accept the risk is a "material fact". If the proposer has knowledge of such fact, he is obliged to disclose it particularly while answering questions in the proposal form. Needless to emphasis that any inaccurate answer will entitle the insurer to repudiate his liability because there is clear presumption that any information sought for in the proposal form is material for the purpose of entering into a Contract of Insurance. As per IRDAI matters to be stated in general insurance policy states that " a company has a provision for cancellation of the policy on grounds of mis-representation, fraud, non-disclosure of material facts or non-cooperation of the insured".
Topics: Insurance Principles
Related Questions in this Topic
- "If there is no insurable interest, the insurance contract becomes wagering contract, and therefore illegal, null and vo...
- Write brief notes on the following: Principles of Insurable Interest and Utmost Good Faith as applicable to Life and Ge...
- A is a horse-owner and races his horses. He has been racing horses, all of which are insured comprehensively by a genera...
- Explain the maxim caveat emptor. Does this apply to insurance contracts?
- Discuss the role of insurance and reinsurance in risk management.