ABC Ltd. is a Public Limited Company, engaged in the business of exports of rice. It uses godowns of the Port Authorities for storage of the rice stocks meant for exports. The company has taken a Fire Insurance Policy co
CS Professional · Insurance - Law & Practice · PYQS · June 2019
ABC Ltd. is a Public Limited Company, engaged in the business of exports of rice. It uses godowns of the Port Authorities for storage of the rice stocks meant for exports. The company has taken a Fire Insurance Policy cover from XYZ Insurance Ltd. which is a Public Sector Company. Satish who is a Development Officer with the Insurance Company has been assigned the account of ABC Ltd. to service and cater to all its requirements of service. The policy is effective from July of one year to June of the subsequent year. On 21st and 22nd July, 2015, there were heavy rains with cyclonic storms, due to which the Port Authority's Godowns were severely flooded. On ceasing of the rains on 26th July, 2015, ABC Co. Ltd. found that most of the bags stored in the Port's Godowns had been washed away. Except for some clusters of rice here and there, all the stocks had been damaged and destroyed by the rain. The Company lodged a claim with the Insurance Company, asking for compensation under the Fire Insurance Policy. The Insurance Company while examining the claim, observed that : The policy was due for renewal on 1st July, 2015 and the Insurance Co. had already sent a notice for payment of renewal premium to ABC Limited. ABC Ltd. had handed over a cheque for the premium as per the premium notice received from XYZ Insurance Ltd. The cheque was given to Satish, Development Officer on 27th June, 2015. The receipt of the cheque was duly acknowledged by Satish who had also issued a Cover Note for the period from 1st July, 2015 to 30th June, 2016. Satish however went on an official trip and deposited the cheque with his company branch on 16th July, 2015 after returning from his official trip. The accounts department deposited the cheque with the bank of the Insurance Company on 21st July, 2015 which was credited to the XYZ Ltd. account on 25th July, 2015. The Insurance Company however did not issue the regular policy till the event of the loss. ABC Ltd. was insured with XYZ Insurance Ltd. since the inception of its business 12 years back and no claims had been made so far by the Company. On receipt of claim from ABC Ltd. the Insurance Company analysed the claim papers and sent a reply to ABC Ltd. repudiating the claim on the following grounds that: ABC Ltd. Co. was not covered on the date of loss, as no premium was paid for the cover. The premium was received by XYZ Insurance Co.'s accounts department on 25th July, 2015 after the loss had occurred and hence no insurance policy can be granted. Loss due to floods is not covered under Fire Insurance Policy. XYZ Insurance Co. was not bound by the Cover Note issued by Satish, Development Officer. ABC Ltd. Co., on receipt of reply from XYZ Insurance Ltd. has approached you as an Insurance Expert to advice them for resolution of the dispute. They have also appraised you with the following additional facts about the case: Goods stored in the Godowns included 22000 tons of Rice acquired at a cost of ₹200 crores. The quantum of stocks was supported by the stock registers of the Port Authorities, which is also a Third Party record for confirmation. The stocks in the godown were covered by a Fire Insurance Policy of ₹250 crores. The stocks were pledged to a Nationalized bank for a loan of ₹75 crores. The outstanding amount on the date of fire was ₹60 crores. The Bank has also sent a claim to the Insurance Co. to pay the claim amount directly to the bank as the name of the bank was also endorsed on the earlier policies. The District Collector of the area appointed by the State Government, as Relief Commissioner had also certified that the goods in the godown were lost in the floods and there was no salvage. Based on the above facts of the case, as an Insurance Expert, kindly advice ABC Ltd. Co. on the following issues: Liability of XYZ Co. Ltd. under the provisions of the Fire Insurance Policy.
Answer & Explanation:
Yes, insurers are liable for the loss as per the terms and conditions of the Policy because two important conditions have been fulfilled. Firstly there exists the policy coverage. Secondly, the policy is valid as on the date of loss. Thirdly, the loss occurred due to a peril covered under the policy issued. With the client/policy holder complying with all the required formalities, the insurer is liable for the loss. The client has also informed the insurer of the accident immediately after it knew of its occurrence. Therefore it has to be concluded that there existed a policy on the date of the event in terms of which a claim has to be settled. It has to be assessed and the amount of compensation has to be determined. To assess the damage, the insurer has to appoint a surveyor who has to finalise his assessment to the insurer based on the documents submitted and facts of the case and this assessment will form the basis for settlement. In the present case, the loss has been established independently in that stocks those were in the garden 22,000 tons of rice had been verified by the stock record maintained by the Port Trust which is an independent statutory authority. Its certificate can be accepted primafacie. In addition, physical examination of the godown established the fact that the entire stock at godown had been either damaged or washed away due to the force of the storm coupled with heavy rain and there was no salvage at the godown. The district collector who was the Relief commissioner had confirmed about the total loss of the stock. It is thus crystal clear that the entire stock had been lost. Hence this is a claim for total loss and accordingly the total cost of the stock is payable. The cost of acquisition of total stocks as reported by ABC Limited was ₹200 crores which is payable subject to report from the surveyor and final assessment by the authorities of the insurance company. This also includes the amount payable to the bank.
Topics: Fire Insurance
Related Questions in this Topic
- Sharma Textiles Ltd., a large garment manufacturing company, has a Standard Fire Insurance Policy with a sum insured of ...
- RK a businessman insured his machinery and stock of goods stored in the factory premises against damage by fire and a pr...
- What are the underwriting factors to be considered for a fire insurance cover?
- Devender having a textile business maintains stocks to operate his business. He took a declaration fire insurance policy...
- ABC Insurance Limited received a proposal on 1st April, 2019 from M/s MC Pvt. Co. Ltd., a proprietary firm to take a fir...