Dalbir Singh aged 40 took a policy on 5th August, 2014 for a sum insured of ₹10 lakh from a private Indian Insurer on the basis of the solicitation made by an agent of the insurer. The agent had indicated to Dalbir Singh

CS Professional · Insurance - Law & Practice · PYQS · June 2022
Dalbir Singh aged 40 took a policy on 5th August, 2014 for a sum insured of ₹10 lakh from a private Indian Insurer on the basis of the solicitation made by an agent of the insurer. The agent had indicated to Dalbir Singh that in the event of death, twice the amount of the sum insured will be paid under the policy by the insurer on the payment of a small additional premium at the inception of the policy. Dalbir signed the proposal form on the strength of the advice of the insurance agent who guided the proposer in answering the questions in the proposal form and getting it completed. One of the specific questions in the proposal form was on the subject of recent health condition of the proposer, viz, "whether the proposer had within six months of the date of the proposal had any disease or disorder of the respiratory system like asthma, tuberculosis, fever etc. To this question the proposer had indicated "No" as the answer. The proposal was put through the normal process in the insurer's office and after a medical examination of the proposal and on the payment of the first annual premium and the additional payment of the sum assured, the policy was issued. Dalbir Singh nominated his wife Smt Pushpa to secure the benefits under the policy. On 28th December, 2014 the insurer received an intimation from the beneficiary through the insurance agent that Dalbir Singh had died on 20th December, 2014- apparently by natural causes. A medical report from a doctor was filed along with the claim. The beneficiary asked for the double payment under the conditions of the policy. Since the claim by death arose within six months of the inception of the policy the insurer was surprised by the shortness of the time lapse between the dates of issue of the policy and the death claim. It instituted an investigation into the claim. The investigator went through the proposal form etc. and made enquiries in the neighbourhood where Dalbir had lived. He found out that hardly a fortnight before the proposal, Dalbir had been hospitalised for about a week in the end of July, 2014. He then proceeded to check with the hospital where Dalbir had received the treatment and found that around 20th July, 2014 Dalbir had vomited blood and had suffered from a stomach ailment probably caused by an infected liver. Dalbir had stayed in the hospital for a week and had been discharged on 31st July, 2014. On the strength of the investigation report the insurance company repudiated the claim for non-disclosure of material facts and purposely giving a wrong and misleading information in the proposal form viz that he had not suffered from any disease during the period of six months prior to issue of the policy. The beneficiary appealed to the Dispute Resolution Board of the insurance company but was not successful. She then proceeded against the insurer in the District Consumer's Forum which decided in her favour considering the fact that Dalbir had suffered from a minor stomach upset and the answer contained in the proposal form was not incorrect. The insurer then took up the matter to the State's Consumers' Council which confirmed the view of the District Forum. On this, the insurance company filed an appeal in the Supreme Court of India contending that there was a material non-disclosure of the facts and the proposal form did not indicate the real state of health of the proposer. There was breach of contract terms and the insurer wanted the Supreme Court to set aside the decision of the Council. In an insurance contract what does constitute a material fact? What are the provisions of the law that enable an insurance company to avoid payment under a policy? Is there any time limit for the operation of any such provision? Discuss.

Answer & Explanation:

In insurance, material facts are used to determine the amount of coverage and the cost of the premium that will be charged. The information is used to determine the level of risk or class of insurance that the insurance company may be willing to offer. The statement of material facts is a document in which the moving party sets out each material fact that it contends is not in genuine dispute. The rules regarding the statement of material facts vary widely among district courts. A material fact is one that will critically affect the decision of the acceptor to a contract, whether to agree or not to agree, being a party to the contract. Proposer is the offeror and insurance company is the acceptor and for the existence of a valid contract, there must be consensus as-idem i.e. meeting of two minds or complete understanding and consensus between the parties as to the subject matter of the contract. A breach of the condition may lead to the parties cancelling the contract. In some cases, contract will become illegal or void ab initio. A material fact is one which will critically affect or influence the decision making of the parties and affect the very structure of the obligation flowing under an agreement. Fraud or misstatement of facts with a view to inducing the other party to conclude an agreement, a fact or statement that could materially affect the decision maker as to accepting the contract or not, is an issue that is critically questioning the very roots or the basis of an agreement, are material facts in the eye of law. A breach of this fundamental philosophy can break the contract and make the party responsible for that misstatement etc. to penalties in addition to the cancellation of the agreement/contract. These cannot be an application of this principle to situation where the party or its agent knew about the impugned facts or a mere mistake unknowingly made or done without wilful motives or a mere slip cannot be considered as material facts wrongly portrayed. In these cases, the contract will enforce but there can be monetary penalties for a non-willful breach. This is the argument that the insurer had placed before the Supreme Court for having rejected the claim. The source of the power of the insurer to adopt this stand is found in section 45 of the Insurance Act which gives scope and cover for an insured to question the validity of life insurance policies and consequently to avoid any liability under the policy. This power can be used within two years of the commencement of the policy where the question of genuineness of the claim, the non-acceptability of the liability under the policy due to prevalence of fraud, non-statement of material facts etc. can be looked into. Non-disclosure of material facts is a clear ground for breach of contract. Fraudulent representation of a material fact entitles the insurer to avoid the policy and moreover, when the non-disclosure is intentional, like in the present case, where the hospitalization facts were deliberately not revealed in the proposal form. Thus, the wilful intention makes the contract enforceable, and the insurer has the right to repudiate the claim on the basis of non-disclosure of material facts. As per the provisions of the law, there is a time limit of two years from the date of issue of the policy for the insurer to contest in cases like these. Thereafter, the insurer cannot cancel or contest on the ground of mis-statements in the policy application. An incontestability clause is a provision in a life or disability insurance policy that prevents the insurance company from cancelling the policy based on misstatements in the policy application after the insurance has been in effect for a certain period of time, usually two years, as per the Insurance Act, 1938, but then recently revised to three years as per the Insurance Amendment Act, 2015. In this case, however, the said time period of two years has not lapsed. Therefore, the insurer can repudiate the claim on breach of contract, and breach of utmost good faith and mis-statement in the policy application, as it is not time barred allegation. In the present case, death of the insured having taken place within six month of the commencement of the policy triggered an investigation by the insurer leading to the presence of a wrong statement of material facts. The time limit set by section 45 can be looked as some sort of safety value for the policy holders since, if the time of 3 years, as per the recent amendment in the year 2015, had been lapsed, the insurer cannot question the wise of the policy except in very limited cases of downright fraud.

Topics: Insurance Contract Law

Open in Interactive Practice Hub · Full Practice Hub · Chapter Weightage · More in this subject

Related Questions in this Topic